Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join SES
SES Distinguished Service Award
Share |

SES Distinguished Service Award


 The Award is authorized by the Board of Directors, upon the recommendation of the Awards Committee, to recognize noteworthy contribution or service to the growth and development of SES, through:

  • Effective participation and leadership as an SES Officer;
  • Administrative and/or technical leadership as Council director or Chairman of a Standing Committee;
  • Development of noteworthy publications on behalf of SES; or,
  • Leadership of a special project on behalf of SES.


SES Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2019 Recipient: Karin Athanas, Senior Policy Manager, TIC Council

Karin Athanas is Senior Policy Manager with the TIC Council Americas and also serves on the Board of Directors of the Society of Standards Professionals (SES) and Chairs the SES marketing committee. Ms. Athanas has over 10 years of experience in standards, accreditation, and conformity assessment working closely with government and industry.

In addition, Ms. Athanas currently serves on the Forensic Science Standards Board (FSSB) and as the Chair of the Quality Infrastructure Committee (QIC) of the NIST OSAC, committee member on several ASTM committees, the ISO TC 272 working group 5, Co-Chairs the Women in Standards group, and is a member of the American Society of Association Executives (ASAE), Association of Forensic Quality Assurance Managers (AFQAM), International Association for Identification (IAI), and the International Association for Identification (IAI), Chesapeake Bay Division (CBD).

An experienced lead auditor to international standards such as ISO/IEC 17025 and ISO/IEC 17020, Karin’s past accomplishments includes participation on the working group that developed International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) Guide 19 Modules in a Forensic Science Process, on the Maryland Forensic Laboratory Advisory Committee (FLAC) that developed COMAR 10.51 Forensic Laboratories, requirements for licensure, and on the National Commission on Forensic Science subcommittee on Accreditation and Proficiency Testing to develop recommendations for forensic science including Views of the Commission on Proficiency Testing in Forensic Science and Views on Critical Steps to Accreditation.

 Nomination Procedure: 

For each nomination, include individual name, organization, and contact information. Also, provide a supporting statement of 350 words or less stating the achievements in support of the nomination.

Using the nomination form as a guide, you can submit qualified nominations in one of three ways: 

Email: SES Executive Director

Telephone: 1 309-716-6504

Mike Morrell
Executive Director
SES - The Society for Standards Professionals
1950 Lafayette Road
Suite 200
Portsmouth, NH 03801 

Past Award Recipients