Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join SES
Award - SES/ASTM Robert J. Painter Memorial Award
Share |

Robert J. Painter Memorial Award

Initially established in 1956 as the SES / ASTM Award, this Award is financed by ASTM and administered and awarded by SES. The name of the Award was changed in 1976 to the SES / ASTM Robert J. Painter Memorial Award to recognize Robert J. Painter, the ASTM Executive Secretary from 1952-1960, and Executive Secretary Emeritus from 1961-1965.

This Award for meritorious service, recognizes work done by standards engineers in promoting the use of standards and is presented to the person contributing the most outstanding service in a given year in the field of standards. This award is presented at the SES Annual Conference. 

This Award is presented by invitation of ASTM and the SES Board of Directors, upon the recommendation of the Awards Committee, for special service in the field of standardization through a company program, managerial support, or educational research. The Award is limited to one (1) per year. Any individual is eligible for nomination.

2019 SES/ASTM Robert J. Painter Memorial Award Recipient:

Recipient:Tripp Fischer, Vice President, Principal Hydrogeologist

ASTM Committee E50 is proud to nominate Mr. Tripp Fischer for the Robert J. Painter Memorial Award because of his outstanding service in developing and promoting use of consensus standards for remediating environmentally contaminated properties.  Mr. Fischer has been a member of ASTM International since 2002, and since 2012 has served as chair of E50.04 Subcommittee on Corrective Action and as a member of Committee E50’s Executive Subcommittee.  He is also a member of Committee D18 on Soil and Rock, ASTM’s Committee on Standards, and numerous E50 and D18 subcommittees.

Mr. Fischer is currently Vice President and Principal Hydrogeologist at Brownfield Science Technology, Inc. (BSTI), in Cochranville, Pennsylvania.  Prior to joining BSTI in 2009, he served for 11 years as Environmental Engineer at the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control.  He received his Master of Engineering degree from Penn State University and his Bachelor of Science in Geology from West Chester University of Pennsylvania.

Throughout his membership on Committee E50, Mr. Fischer has actively promoted the goals of ASTM and SES to further the knowledge and use of standards and standardization, initially as a member of Subcommittee E50.04 and since 2012 as its chair.  He volunteered thousands of hours to ASTM International over the years, both as a regulator in the State of Delaware and thereafter as a consultant, promoting the development of standards across his sphere of expertise and organizing training programs to ensure that practitioners apply those standards correctly.  As a regulator, he worked with a network of governmental agencies (e.g., EPA, DoD, DOE, Interstate Regulatory Technology Council (ITRC), Association of State and Territorial Solid Waste Management Officials (ASTSWMO), American Water Resources Association (AWRA) and several state regulatory agencies) to encourage greater use of ASTM standards in addressing the risks posed by environmentally contaminated properties.  Perhaps of greatest significance, Mr. Fischer has repeatedly identified subject areas for new standards and recruited professionals with the expertise to take the lead in developing standards and building consensus.  Mr. Fischer’s energy, enthusiasm and leadership skills resulted in publication of more than a dozen new or updated standards since 2012.  A list of the standards published during the period in which Mr. Fischer served as subcommittee chair appears on p.2 of this nomination.

Mr. Fischer’s efforts in support of standards development did not end with the publication of new or updated standards.  Rather, once a standard has been published, Mr. Fischer focused on training practitioners and regulators in the proper implementation of those standards.  He has organized numerous ASTM workshops and training programs in the six years of his chairmanship of the E50.04 subcommittee.  These efforts have expanded the universe of practitioners making use of ASTM standards on corrective action in their professional activities.

Nomination Procedure:

For each nomination, include individual name, organization, and contact information. Also, provide a supporting statement of 350 words or less stating the achievements in support of the nomination.

Using the nomination form as a guide, you can submit qualified nominations in one of three ways:

Email: SES Executive Director

Telephone: 1 309-716-6504


Mike Morrell
Executive Director

SES - The Society for Standards Professionals
1950 Lafayette Road
Suite 200
Pourtsmouth, NH 03801

View Past Recipients of the SES/ASTM Robert J. Painter Memorial Award