Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join SES
Award - Honorary Life Member
Share |

Honorary Life Member

This Award consists of a professionally mounted Citation, and is presented at the SES Annual Conference.

This Award is presented by invitation of the Board of Directors, upon the recommendation of the Awards committee, for unusual professional distinction and outstanding accomplishment or special contribution to recognized Associations or Committees in the field of standardization.

The Award is limited to one (1) per year.

Only individuals who are not current members or who have not been members of SES during the past five (5) years are eligible.

2018 Honorary Life Member Recipient:

Mr. Jim Shannon, President IEC

Since January, 2017 James M. Shannon has been President of the IEC, the world’s leading producer of International Standards for electrotechnology.  Before that he was President and Chief Executive Officer of the NFPA from 2002 until 2014. NFPA is the leading advocate of fire prevention and developer of fire safety standards and the National Electrical Code. From 1991 until assuming the presidency in 2002 Mr. Shannon served as NFPA’s Senior Vice President and General Counsel.


During his tenure as NFPA president, Mr. Shannon launched a successful national effort to require that all cigarettes sold in the U.S. be “fire safe” and a national campaign that is still underway advocating the use of fire sprinklers in all new one and two-family homes. He devised NFPA’s “free access” policy that made NFPA the first major standards developer to provide the public free access online to all of its codes and standards.


Prior to joining NFPA Mr. Shannon was elected Attorney General of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, a position he held from 1987 until 1991.  As Massachusetts Attorney General Mr. Shannon was recognized as a strong advocate of consumer rights and civil rights. He personally argued cases before the United States Supreme Court, the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court and the Circuit Court of Appeals for the First Circuit. He also served as Chair of the Antitrust Committee of the National Association of Attorneys General.


From 1985 until 1987 Mr. Shannon was a Senior Partner in the Boston office of Hale & Dorr (now WilmerHale).


Mr. Shannon was elected to the United States House of Representatives representing the Fifth Congressional District of Massachusetts in 1978 and, at 26, was the youngest member of the 96th Congress. As a freshman he was appointed to the Ways and Means Committee where he worked on major tax legislation and was actively involved in legislative efforts to strengthen Social Security. He was re-elected in 1980 and 1982, and left Congress after an unsuccessful campaign for the Senate in 1984.


Mr. Shannon serves on the board of UL.


Mr. Shannon received his B.A. from Johns Hopkins University and his J.D. from George Washington University Law School.

Nomination Procedure:

For each nomination, include individual name, organization, and contact information. Also, provide a supporting statement of 350 words or less stating the achievements in support of the nomination.

Using the nomination form as a guide, you can submit qualified nominations in one of three ways:


Telephone: 1 309-716-6504


Mike Morrell
Executive Director
SES - The Society for Standards Professionals
1950 Lafayette Road
Suite 200
Pourtsmouth, NH 03801

View Past Recipients of the Honorary Life Member Award