Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join SES
Community Search

Contact SES!


Mail: SES, 1950 Lafayette Rd
Suite 200
Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone: 1 309 716 6504
Fax: 1 603 610 7101

Award - SES/ASTM Robert J. Painter Memorial Award
Share |

Robert J. Painter Memorial Award

Initially established in 1956 as the SES / ASTM Award, this Award is financed by ASTM and administered and awarded by SES. The name of the Award was changed in 1976 to the SES / ASTM Robert J. Painter Memorial Award to recognize Robert J. Painter, the ASTM Executive Secretary from 1952-1960, and Executive Secretary Emeritus from 1961-1965.

This Award for meritorious service, recognizes work done by standards engineers in promoting the use of standards and is presented to the person contributing the most outstanding service in a given year in the field of standards. This award is presented at the SES Annual Conference. 

This Award is presented by invitation of ASTM and the SES Board of Directors, upon the recommendation of the Awards Committee, for special service in the field of standardization through a company program, managerial support, or educational research. The Award is limited to one (1) per year. Any individual is eligible for nomination.

2018 SES/ASTM Robert J. Painter Memorial Award Recipient:

Recipient: Hany Demian, Standards Executive,US Food and Drug Administration

The contributions of Hany Demian to the course of voluntary standardization over the past year exemplify the ideals of both ASTM International (ASTM) and SES. He has been a dedicated advocate for the development and application of voluntary standards for the critical and complex areas of medical devices and additive manufacturing. In his capacity as FDA’s Standards Executive, he has spearheaded multiple outreach programs to the standards developing community that have enabled essential interaction between the volunteer membership of several standards developing committees and the FDA leadership within the Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH).


Access to a Federal Agency is an essential component of a viable standards activity. The combination of the breadth of the FDA and the hypercritical nature of the topics under its jurisdiction renders effective communication a necessity.  Relative to the work product of ASTM Committees F04 on Medical and Surgical Materials and Devices and F42 on Additive Manufacturing Technologies, Mr. Demian has accelerated the development of standards that connect the medical device industry with a series of transformative technologies. Via the placement of key FDA staff at various levels within the committees, the facilitation of continuous interaction among FDA and ASTM, and the fostering of an open and accessible work environment, Mr. Demian has greatly enhanced the ability of F04 and F42 to operate collaboratively, efficiently, and effectively. He has helped provide a vehicle to develop high quality, market relevant standards to serve as the bridge between research and market allowing the application of leading edge additive manufacturing technology to the medical device world.


ASTM Service

Mr. Demian joined ASTM in 1995, and in addition to Committee F04 on Medical and Surgical Materials and Devices (where he has served as the General Interest Vice Chairman since 2012), he is also a member of F02 on Flexible Barrier Packaging and E56 on Nanotechnology.


Biographical Data

Hany Demian has spent the entirety of his professional career with the US Food and Drug Administration. He was hired in 1994 as an Expert Biomedical Engineer, and over the next 24 years has held no less than 11 positions as he progressed through their ranks. In his current role as Standards Executive, he serves as the Chair of the FDA Standards Committee (FDASC) and maintains the Standards Management Program (SMP) for FDA to develop and operate a unified standards system within the Agency. This involves coordination of standards development among FDA Centers, including establishment of mechanisms to enable the Agency to speak with a consensus voice on cross cutting standards issues. It also establishes and maintains liaison with other components of the Agency; high level officials of other National or International government agencies; and national professional medical, education, industry, patient, and lay user organizations for the purpose of carrying out the mission of the Agency.


Honors & Awards

  • ASTM Committee F04 on Medical and Surgical Materials and Devices Patrick G. Laing Award (formerly F04 Award of Merit) May 2013  

The highest level of recognition available to Committee F04 for a member who has made particularly outstanding contributions to the work of the committee in developing standards for medical and surgical materials and devices.

  • ASTM Committee F04 on Medical and Surgical Materials and Devices Leroy Wyman Award May 2008

Recognizes the most honored engineer who has made outstanding contributions to the work of the Committee

  • ASTM Committee F04 on Medical and Surgical Materials and Devices Science and Engineering with Sensitivity Award May 2000  
  • USPHS Engineering Literary Award May 1999  

Presented by the Chief Engineer of the U.S. Public Health Service and the Engineer Professional Advisory Committee for the paper entitled “Regulatory perspective on characterization and testing of orthopedic bone cement”



Clemson University

M.S. Bioengineering, 1994

B.S. Pre-Medicine/Pre-Medical Studies, 1991

Nomination Procedure:

Using the nomination form as a guide, you can submit qualified nominations in one of three ways:

Email: SES Executive Director

Telephone: 1 309-716-6504

Supporting Data:
For each nomination, include individual name, organization, and contact information. Also, provide a supporting statement of 350 words or less stating the achievements in support of the nomination.

Mike Morrell
Executive Director

SES - The Society for Standards Professionals
1950 Lafayette Road
Suite 200
Pourtsmouth, NH 03801

View Past Recipients of the SES/ASTM Robert J. Painter Memorial Award


Sign In


May 2019 SES Webinar

Copyright © SES - The Society for Standards Professionals. All rights reserved.
This site prepared and maintained by