Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join SES
Community Search

Contact SES!


Mail: SES, 1950 Lafayette Rd
Suite 200
Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone: 1 309 716 6504
Fax: 1 603 610 7101

Award - SES/CSA Lorne K. Wagner Memorial Award
Share |

Lorne K. Wagner Memorial Award

The SES/CSA Lorne K. Wagner Memorial Award was established in 2001 to recognize an SES member who has made an outstanding contribution to SES. The Award consists of a professionally mounted Citation, and is presented at the SES Annual Conference.


This Award is presented by invitation of the Board of Directors, upon the recommendation of the Awards Committee, to recognize noteworthy contribution or service to the growth and development of SES, through:

  • Exceptional achievement as an SES Officer, or,
  • Exceptional contribution to SES by any member.

The Award is presented on an annual basis.

Only individuals who are current members of SES are eligible for nomination.

Past award recipients

2017 SES/CSA Lorne K. Wagner Memorial Award Recipient:

Recipient: Sonya M. Bird, International Standards Manager, Global Standards Department, UL, AStd, FSES

Ms. Bird is active in regional and international standards activities. She has been an active participant and leader in SES since 2004 and will be rotating off the SES Board of Directors as Past President at the August 2017 meeting. 

She is the current vice‐chair of the TMC, and recently elected as USNC Vice‐President Technical. In this position, she chairs the TMC and also represents the U.S. on the IEC Standards Management Board (SMB). Sonya leads the USNC TMC Task Force on Model Operating Procedures Verification Process, a group responsible for reviewing and affirming unique procedures of the USTAGs. She is involved in the ANSI International Forum (AIF), the International Policy Committee (IPC) of ANSI, and the ANSI Regional Steering Committees. Sonya also serves as the Secretary of IEC TC 61 (household appliances). Previously, she served as Secretary of USTAG for IEC TC 69 (electric vehicles), and Secretary of the e‐TAG for IEC SMB SG#6 (Electrotechnology for Mobility).

A member of SES since 2004, she has served on the SES Board of Directors as President, Vice‐President, and Membership Director and has also served as SES Conference Committee Chair and SES Membership Committee Chair. She is also a long‐time participant on the Executive Committee of CANENA (Council for Harmonization of Electrotechnical Standards of the Nations of the Americas), where she previously served as Treasurer of the Council, and chair of the CANENA Audit Committee.

Sonya has been a tireless advocate for SES as a professional organization as well as the standards developed by its members.  She has encouraged and mentored new(er) members and is always willing to extent herself to benefit the organization and its members. Her efforts and commitment to SES capture the spirit of the Lorne K. Wagner award and she would be an outstanding recipient.

Sonya Bird is the International Standards Manager in the Global Standards Department of UL. In this role, she leads UL’s international standards outreach and international harmonization activities. Sonya holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from North Carolina State University. She is also a graduate of the UL Global Leadership Program (GLP), an extensive educational program provided by UL for its global leaders.

Nomination Procedure:

Using the nomination form as a guide, you can submit qualified nominations in one of three ways:

Email: SES Executive Director

Telephone: 1 603 926 0750

Supporting Data:
For each nomination, include individual name, organization, and contact information. Also, provide a supporting statement of 350 words or less stating the achievements in support of the nomination.

Mike Morrell
Executive Director
SES - The Society for Standards Professionals
1950 Lafayette Road
Suite 200
Pourtsmouth, NH 03801

View Past Recipients of the SES/CSA Lorne K. Wagner Memorial Award


Sign In


Copyright © SES - The Society for Standards Professionals. All rights reserved.
This site prepared and maintained by