Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join SES
Community Search

Contact SES!


Mail: SES, 1950 Lafayette Rd
Suite 200
Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone: 1 603 926 0750
Fax: 1 603 610 7101

Award - Fellow
Share |


The Award consists of a distinctively colored SES lapel pin and is accompanied by a professionally mounted Citation. The Award is presented at the SES Annual Conference.


This Award is presented by invitation of the Board of Directors, upon the recommendation of the Awards Committee, for Professional distinction in, and special contribution to, the field of standardization, as: 

An Executive, Manager, Scientist, Engineer, Technologist, Writer or Information Specialist engaged in the field of Standards or Standardization who has attained professional distinction; who has been engaged in this discipline for at least 10 years; and, who has directed or participated in important work applying the principles of standardization for at least three (3) years, or,

  • A Professor or Teacher in a University, College or School of recognized standing, who has contributed to the advancement of the principles of Standardization, or,

  • An individual who has done notable original work which has contributed to the advancement of standardization, and has thereby attained professional distinction, or,

  •  An individual regularly engaged in standards or standardization work for at least 10 years, and, who by special contribution to the advancement of standardization or related documentation, has attained professional distinction.

  • The Award is presented on an annual basis.

  •  Only individuals who have been members of SES for the past ten (10) years are eligible for nomination.

2016 SES Fellow Recipients:

Recipient: Sonya M. Bird, International Standards Manager, Global Standards Dept., UL, Inc.

Ms. Bird is active in regional and international standards activities. She is a member of the US National Committee (USNC) Council of the IEC, after previously participating on the USNC Technical Management Committee (TMC).

She is the current vice‐chair of the TMC, and was recently elected as USNC Vice‐President Technical. In this position, she will chair the TMC, and she will also represent the US on the IEC Standards Management Board (SMB). Sonya leads the USNC TMC Task Force on Model Operating Procedures Verification Process, a group responsible for reviewing and affirming unique procedures of the USTAGs. She is involved in the ANSI International Forum (AIF), the International Policy Committee (IPC) of ANSI, and the ANSI Regional Steering Committees. Sonya also serves as the Secretary of IEC TC 61 (household appliances). Previously, she served as Secretary of USTAG for IEC TC 69 (electric vehicles), and Secretary of the e‐TAG for IEC SMB SG#6 (Electrotechnology for Mobility).

A member of SES – The Society for Standards Professionals – since 2004, she has served on the SES Board of Directors as President, Vice‐President, and Membership Director and has also served as SES Conference Committee Chair and SES Membership Committee chair. She is also a long‐time participant on the Executive Committee of CANENA (Council for Harmonization of Electrotechnical Standards of the Nations of the Americas), where she previously served as Treasurer of the Council, and chair of the CANENA Audit Committee.

Sonya was awarded the IEC Thomas A. Edison award during the 2013 IEC General Meeting. She was also named a 2011 ANSI Meritorious Service Award recipient. In 2012, she was named a Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at Underwriters Laboratories in recognition of significant and sustained contributions to the fulfillment of UL’s public safety mission.

Sonya Bird is the International Standards Manager in the Global Standards Department of Underwriters Laboratories Inc. (UL). In this role, she leads UL’s international standards outreach and international harmonization activities. Sonya holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from North Carolina State University. She is also a graduate of the UL Global Leadership Program (GLP), an extensive educational program provided by UL for its global leaders.

SES Fellow

Recipient: Steve Oksala, President, Oksala Consulting, LLC

Mr. Oksala became involved in the ANSI Company Member Forum in 1988 when he became the director of standards and regulatory compliance at Unisys. He joined the ANSI Board of Directors in 1991 as chair of the Information Technology Consultative Committee (ITCC). He remained a Board member through 2014. Over the course of his twenty‐four years on the Board he served as chair of the National Policy Committee and the Conformity Assessment Policy Committee, and served two terms as vice chairman of the Board. He was active in the International Policy Committee (chairing the Regional Standards Committee for Europe), the Intellectual Property Rights Policy Committee, and the Company and Organizational Member Forums. Mr. Oksala was the editor of the original US Standards Strategy. Mr. Oksala received the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal in 1999, the George Wham Leadership Medal in 2009, and the President’s Award for Journalism in 2015.

Outside ANSI, Mr. Oksala has participated over the years in X3 (now NICTS; he was the chair of the Strategic Planning Committee), ITI, ISO/IEC JTC 1, IEC TC 100, ITU‐T. T1 (now ATIS), ETSI, and ECMA.

Mr. Oksala has been a member of SES – the Society for Standards Professionals since 1999. He was the first place winner of World Standards Day paper competition in 1996, and took second place in 2000. He has been the editor of the SES journal Standards Engineering since the September/October issue of 2013.

Mr. Oksala was the director, standards and regulatory compliance, for the Unisys Corporation from 1987 to 2000. He and his staff set standards policy and represented the company in external standards organizations and trade associations. From 2000 to 2012 Mr. Oksala was the vice president of standards for the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE). He led SCTE from a small SDO (twelve standards, fifty members, no standards revenue) to a major one (over 250 standards, over 150 members and over $1 million in dues revenue). Following his retirement from SCTE in 2012, Mr. Oksala has worked as a standards consultant.


Nomination Procedure: 

Using the nomination form as a guide, you can submit qualified nominations in one of three ways: 

Email: SES Executive Director

Telephone: 1 603 926 0750

Mike Morrell
Executive Director
SES - The Society for Standards Professionals
1950 Lafayette Road
Suite 200
Pourtsmouth, NH 03801 

Supporting Data:
For each nomination, include individual name, organization, and contact information. Also, provide a supporting statement of 350 words or less stating the achievements in support of the nomination.

View Past Recipients of the Fellow Award  

Sign In
Sign In securely

8/7/2017 » 8/10/2017
2017 SES Conference - “Building Alliances in Standards and Conformity Assessment”

Copyright © SES - The Society for Standards Professionals. All rights reserved.
This site prepared and maintained by